How To Improve As A Writer (v2)

Pages 123Next
In this thread, I hope to gather the many voices of Fakku, and with their help create a list of advice to help us all improve our craft as writers.
The original was destroyed in the Great February Fakk up so here is the original version + improvements

This thread is for general tips on how to improve yourself as a writer. I am no expert myself, but I hope that with the combined knowledge of the whole forum, this thread can become a very helpful guide to anyone who wants to improve.

So, here is my advice to start things off:
1. READ! Read as much as you can, this seems obvious, but it is crucial to understanding the feel of good words, and the shape of a great story. Don't just read one genre though, you can learn from everything; Fiction and non-fiction. Comedy and romance. Poetry and prose. Every writer has something to teach you, even if it is just to learn from their mistakes.

Fiction can teach you world building, and Scifi/fantasy can stretch you imagination to give bloom to bouts of creative thought, while non-fiction can give you information about the real world, and human nature and our interactions with each other.

Comedy can teach you to keep a sense of humor, and it's always good to get a laugh, as that can draw a reader into your story. Even in sad or serious stories, a dark joke can set the mood, and help us understand a character and how their mind works. Romance on the other hand, can teach you how love can twist a person, or straighten them out, and how to use the mind of the opposite gender if you are not experienced in it yourself. Romance can also train you in manipulating the emotions of your readers. Use the horrid "Twilight" series for example: The writing is below average, and the plot is non-existent, but simply by keeping the suspense of forbidden romance, and the choice of two loves, Stephanie Meyer sold millions.