Torrents?

Pages 12Next
Yeah. Although i'm an elite at the Forums, i'm still a noob to gadgets, downloads and others. And the torrent is one of those gadgets. So i've gotta ask.

What is the Torrent? What is it for? What are Torrent Files? And how do you install and make the torrent work and download stuff?!
ok i think prolly the easyest way to explain a torrent is this. you ever use limewire? think of torrent as a safe limewire download. but instead of dling a song at a time(or vid) you can download whole albums at once.

to make it work go to bittorrent.com(i think) and download bittorrent. its free. then go to google and just google whatever your looking for +torrent. ex. bleach ep. 1 torrent
Tsujoi Social Media Manager
I'll give you some places you can use to search for torrents.

Remember, download the torrent file, open the file with with bittorrent.

isohunt.com
thepiratebay.org
boxtorrents.com
demonoid.com
baka-updates.com
anime-source.com
one thing ive noticed is that alot of video files ive gotten thru torrents are .mkv files. so i had to go dl the vlc media player to play em cause real and wmp wont play em. im not sure of the exact site it was but if you just google it youll prolly find what youneed.
Tsujoi Social Media Manager
or you can just install the cccp codec pack to play .mkv and other files in wmp.

http://www.cccp-project.net/
Waar FAKKU Moderator
bitcomet is the client i think they were referring to.
A torrent is basically a large file being shared over a network. Essentially, when a torrent client opens a torrent file, it receives directions as to where to download from and to from a list of a trackers.

The file itself is split into small chunks, sent to your client, and pieced together. Once a file has hit 100% downloading, it's workable. It's best when downloading full anime seasons, since you can manipulate download priority and encourage chunks of certain episodes to be downloaded first.